#BLOGTOUR | The Flame Within – Liz Harris @lizharrisauthor @rararesources @gilbster1000 #amreading #bookblogger #bookreview

From award-winning author of The Dark Horizon, Liz Harris, comes the second in a sweeping saga set between the wars, which tells the story of the Linfords, a family simmering with secrets, lies and betrayal.

London, 1923
Alice Linford stands on the pavement and stares up at the large Victorian house set back from the road—the house that is to be her new home.

But it isn’t her house. It belongs to someone else—to a Mrs Violet Osborne. A woman who was no more than a name at the end of an advertisement for a companion that had caught her eye three weeks earlier.

More precisely, it wasn’t Mrs Osborne’s name that had caught her eye—it was seeing that Mrs Osborne lived in Belsize Park, a short distance only from Kentish Town. Kentish Town, the place where Alice had lived when she’d been Mrs Thomas Linford.

Thomas Linford—the man she still loves, but through her own stupidity, has lost. The man for whom she’s left the small Lancashire town in which she was born to come down to London again. The man she’s determined to fight for.
The Flame Within is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.

Amazon UK
Amazon US


Review:

The Flame Within by Liz Harris is an emotional story of war and the aftermath of it. An interesting look into mental health and the impact of families as soldiers came home from the war.

The writing is very easy going, so this is a good book to pick up and read when you want to just get away for a while.

There was a lot of historical info in this, which made it very accurate feeling. The pace was a bit uneven at times, but nothing too drastic.

I enjoyed this one.

Rating:

4/5☆

*I received a free copy of this book from Rachel’s Random Resources in exchange for an honest review on the blog tour. All opinions are my own and unbiased.*


Liz’s first six novels were published by Choc Lit. The Road Back was the US Coffee Time and Romance Book of the Year, A Bargain Struck was RoNA-shortlisted for Best Historical Novel, and they and The Lost Girl, Evie Undercover, The Art of Deception and A Western Heart were shortlisted by the Festival of Romantic Fiction in their respective categories. Liz’s latest historical novel, The Dark Horizon, Book 1 of The Linford Series, which is set between the wars, was released in May 2020. She has also had short stories published in several anthologies and in magazines.

Liz is an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, and also of the Historical Novel Society. She regularly gives talks and workshops at conferences, and is an approved speaker for organisations such as the WI and U3A. Her hobbies are theatre, reading, travel, cryptic crosswords. You can visit her website at http://www.lizharrisauthor.com

Website: http://www.lizharrisauthor.com
Twitter: @lizharrisauthor
Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/lizharrisauthor

Instagram: liz.harris.52206


Rachel’s Random Resources

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to interact with you. If this sounds like something you would read, let me know!

Linktr.ee (All links!)

2 thoughts on “#BLOGTOUR | The Flame Within – Liz Harris @lizharrisauthor @rararesources @gilbster1000 #amreading #bookblogger #bookreview

  1. Many thanks for your lovely review of The Flame Within, Jessica. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the novel. I very much enjoyed writing it, partly because I grew up in Belsize Park, near where Violet lived, and I have a close friend in Waterfoot, Alice’s home town, so I know it well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.