#BLOGTOUR | The Spellworker – Victoria Lamb @VictoriaLamb1 @rararesources @gilbster1000 #amreading #bookblogger #bookreview

Welcome to my spot on the blog tour for The Spellworker by Victoria Lamb. Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resourcesfor my spot on the tour. Read on for more info and my review.


Book One in a rich and suspenseful YA fantasy adventure series, from the author of the award-winning WITCHSTRUCK. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Princess Fiamma is the girl with the serpent tattoos, born to guard the Book of Tongues, a magical text nobody living knows how to read.

Fiamma may be spoilt but she knows her duty. She must not allow the Book to fall into the evil hands of the Spellworker, whose powerful magic can kill with a single word.

A perilous journey through occupied territories

Raised in royal privilege, it’s a shock when the Citadel comes under attack and Fiamma is forced to flee in disguise with the Book of Tongues. Her only companion is Hurth, a handsome but surly soldier who doesn’t bother to hide his contempt for a ‘spoilt princess’.

A time when reading is forbidden, and books are dangerous

Together, she and Hurth must search for a mysterious place where the Book has always been taken in times of danger. But worse than Hurth’s disdain and the hardships of the journey are her own deepest fears about the Book, which has started whispering to her in the night, teaching her how to read it …

Is the Book turning her into a Spellworker too?

As she faces her destiny, and learns the true meaning of the serpent tattoos she bears, Fiamma has to decide how far she’ll go to protect the Book’s secrets.

A compelling tale of Good versus Evil in a world where what you see is definitely not what you get.

Amazon UK
Amazon US


Review:

Can we talk about the cover for The Spellworker by Victoria Lamb for just a second? I try not to judge a book by its cover but this one was so beautiful, I said, “yes,” to reading the book before I really knew what it was about. Thankfully, it is right up my alley and I absolutely loved the words, too!

This is book one of a series I will definitely be watching. Fantasy, as many of my blog readers know, is my favorite genre. Victoria Lamb’s world building is everything. I felt drawn in by the writing, and this was difficult to set down. It’s paced really well, and there wasn’t a time when I was thinking about anything else.

The concept of this story is so intriguing. There’s mystery and intriguing surrounding the Book. I love the way this author handled the concept of good vs evil, and I really enjoyed the idea that what you see isn’t always what you (thankfully, I saw this cover and got an amazing story, though!).

I could keep raving, or I could let you head over to a book retailer and grab yourself a copy of The Spellworker. If you’re a fantasy lover, you’re not going to be disappointed. I highly recommend giving this a read.

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for the review copy and the opportunity to honestly review this book on the blog tour. All opinions are my own and unbiased.

Rating:

5/5☆


Historical and YA paranormal author of the RNA award-winning novel WITCHSTRUCK, Victoria Lamb is addicted to the supernatural, and on dark nights has been known to sneak out and howl at the moon. She also writes thrillers as Jane Holland, and other fiction as Betty Walker, Elizabeth Moss and Beth Good, among others. Victoria’s most recent novel is THE SPELLWORKER, first in a fab new YA epic fantasy series called THE BOOK OF TONGUES.

TWITTER
Facebook Author Page


Rachel’s Random Resources

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to interact with you. If this sounds like something you would read, let me know!

Linktr.ee (All links!)

If you’d like to support me, check out my ‘Buy Me A Coffee’ page.

Try Audible Premium Plus | Try Kindle Unlimited | Try Audible Plus | Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial | Amazon Prime Music 30-day Free Trial | Try Prime Wardrobe | Jessica Belmont is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.