#BOOKTOUR | Shadow Bound Souls – Steven Rudy @MysticPeddler @RRBookTours1 #RRBookTours #ShadowBoundSouls #Books #bookreview

For fans of The Wheel of Time series, Shadow and Bone and the Stormlight Archives!

We’re thrilled to share the highly anticipated follow-up to The Binding Tempest, Shadow Bound Souls by Steven Rudy! Read on for more details and a chance to win a signed hardcover edition of The Binding Tempest!

Check out my reviews for both books.


Shadow Bound Souls (The Luminance Saga #2)
Publication Date: February 1st, 2022
Genre: Epic Sci-Fi/ Fantasy/ Steampunk
Publisher: MysticHawk Press

Shadow Bound Souls, blends Science Fiction and classic high fantasy in a steampunk world.

The Sagean Lord has emerged.

While the Wrythen’s influence grows stronger, the Sagean and his power-hungry acolytes, the Court of Dragons, are intent on delivering the gem of souls to the Temple of Ama; where the Sintering Fountain can transform the acolytes into Luminaries.

Meanwhile, the band of heroes find themselves separated in a world starting to tear itself apart. Having suffered a huge loss, Ellaria and Elias must escape the Mainland with the Sagean’s agents pursuing them. When Elias becomes sick, Ellaria decides to hide amongst the Showman’s Traveling Show of Wonders. But their journey is shadowed by darkness and when troupe members turn up murdered, Ellaria struggles to find the killer amongst her company.

Far away in the Warhawk Mountains, the three young rogues are stranded with the Tempest Stone. Aimless about what to do, their paths take a turn when they discover the horrifying magnitude of the Sagean’s return to power, the Scree.

Add to Goodreads


Review

Shadow Bound Souls is book two in the Luminance Saga. I really enjoyed book one and book two is just as epic. A blend of steampunk, fantasy, and epic adventure, this is quite the tale. It is very well written.

I’m really enjoying the characters. I think they are the best part of these books so far. Well-developed and relatable, it makes the story when I can relate to the characters and they feel real.

I love the world-building. Steven Rudy’s writing style is compelling and allows the reader to immerse themselves in the story. I’m really looking forward to what’s next for these characters.

Check this one out.

Thank you to R&R Book Tours for the free review copy. All opinions are my own and unbiased.

Rating

4★


Excerpt

A fog drifted amongst the looming masses of tents and travel-crafts. A man stepped from shadow to shadow with a blood-soaked knife. Ellaria could feel him stalking her, but she couldn’t see him. A slight disturbance in the grass, a crunch in the dirt, whispered of his position. But the sound was lost in the wind before she could locate its source.

Where had everyone gone, she wondered. The entirety of the fairgrounds was empty. With a lantern in her hands, she weaved around the trampled paths through the large field, the darkness of the night yet to give way to the morning light.

No matter where she looked, she couldn’t find anyone. She heard a sharp ringing sound from the caravan circle, and she rushed from around a carriage house to the center space.

At the center was a tall man with a top hat. The soft glow of the surrounding carriages provided only enough light to softly illuminate the fog and patches of the ground, leaving the man mostly disguised. He leaned slightly on a cane and his right hand at his side held a long-curved knife.

In succession, the lanterns started to wane and extinguish from behind him. Gradually, each light winked out of existence in a progression toward her and the darkness consumed the circle yard.

Her own light held, and she lifted it forward to see.
A sinister smile on the pale man was now only a few feet away. She couldn’t breathe. She tried to scream, but nothing came out. The man’s face appeared, and she almost recognized him, but his eyes were missing. Like they had been burned out of his skull.

“Hello, Ms. Moonstone,” he spoke in a smoky voice that sent a shiver run down her spine.

“Who are you?” Ellaria said.

“Don’t you know? Don’t you recognize me?”

“No.”

“What a shame, after so many encounters, too,” he said, and lifted the blade. A reflection appeared in the steel of a man she did recognize: Elias. And the pale man laughed. A dark mocking laugh that made her skin crawl. Her hand trembled and Ellaria threw the lantern at his feet…

Available on Amazon

A fallen empire, a failed republic, and a frontier of alchemy, magic and machines…

They thought the war was over. That they had given enough, but when an oppressive empire falls, what comes from the ashes, is turmoil and treachery.

Ellaria Moonstone, an alchemist, and a hero of the Great War, has spent the last forty years trying to rebuild. An emissary for the Scholar’s Guild, her life’s work has been in establishing universities throughout the world. But as a former general that led the resistance in overthrowing the Sagean Empire, she has watched as all she fought for has slowly eroded away and with it, her faith in the republic. Now in her mid-fifties her singular focus has been to protect all knowledge for future generations.

When Ellaria is suspiciously requested to attend a meeting in the capitol city of Adalon, she quickly realizes something is amiss and the main governing body the Coalition of Nations may be compromised.

When the Peace King of the Free Cities goes missing the plot to overthrow the tenuous republic takes shape, and Ellaria becomes convinced that the entity manipulating the fragile government is in servitude to a new Sagean Emperor. A Luminary with the powers to control energy.

Now the Coalition is intent on hunting down and capturing the man that defeated the last Sagean Emperor. The greatest hero of the war, Qudin Lightweaver. However, Ellaria’s old friend has not been seen in twenty years. With no one left to trust, she sends for help from old allies and expatriates scattered across the chaotic frontier. Once reunited, the aging veterans realize trust between old friends is not what it once was.

Three former war heroes, long past their prime and haunted by their pasts, are all that stand against a dark entity threatening the future. With the currency of souls is in the balance they find their destinies are entwined with a band of young rogues.

Together they must stop the return of a dark empire.

While each path to the truth is rot with peril, they discover the key to protecting the future resides in the mysteries of the past. The quest for a lost tomb ensues and the recovery of a relic from the time of the unknown ancients, called the Tempest Stone.

The Binding Tempest is the beginning of an immerse saga, of magic, alchemy, airships, and ancient mysteries. A new epic Sci-Fi and Fantasy series that is a classic High Fantasy Adventure injected with Steampunk science. For fans of The Wheel of Time series, Shadow and Bone and the Stormlight Archives.

Amazon

Review

The Binding Tempest by Steven Rudy is book one in a new-to-me epic fantasy saga that I will be obsessing over until the end. A blend of steakpunk and high fantasy, this blew me away.

I’m loving the older characters in this series. I feel like the majority of the fantasy I’ve read lately has been from the point of view of younger people. It was unique. Ellaria is an excellent main character. Aside from focusing on her age, she is such a well-rounded character. I really enjoyed reading about her. The rest of the cast is exceptionally well done.

Detailed world-building but still fast-paced enough to keep the reader’s attention. The information is a bit hard to keep up with in the beginning but after a few chapters, I had everything down, and was able to fully immerse myself in the story.

Overall, this is a great start to this sage. Don’t miss out.

Thank you to R&R Book Tours for the free review copy. All opinions are my own and unbiased.

Rating

4★


Steven Rudy received a degree in Environmental Design and Architecture from the University of Colorado at Boulder. He currently lives in Colorado with his wife and three kids and works as an architectural designer on historic preservation projects and residential projects.

Shadow Bound Souls is his second novel.

Steven Rudy Books | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

★GIVEAWAY★

Enter for a chance to win a signed hardcover edition of The Binding Tempest (International)
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Tour Schedule

February 14th
R&R Book Tour (Kick-Off) http://rrbooktours.com
Reads & Reels (Spotlight) http://readsandreels.com
Books + Coffee = Happiness (Spotlight) https://bookscoffeehappiness.com/
Dark Whimsical Art (Spotlight) https://www.darkwhimsicalart.com/blogs/news
@takealookatmybookshelf (Review) https://www.instagram.com/takealookatmybookshelf/
Bunny’s Reviews (Review) https://bookwormbunnyreviews.blogspot.com/
@swimming.in.books (Review) https://www.instagram.com/swimming.in.books/

February 15th
@dany.alvy (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/dany.alvy/
Gwendalyn’s Books (Review) https://gwendalynbooks.blog/
@louturnspages (Review) https://www.instagram.com/louturnspages/
@atypical.tales (Review) https://www.instagram.com/atypical.tales/
@gryffindorbookishnerd (Review) https://www.instagram.com/gryffindorbookishnerd/
Rambling Mads (Review) http://ramblingmads.com

February 16th
I Smell Sheep (Spotlight) http://www.ismellsheep.com/
@jacleomik33 (Review) https://www.instagram.com/jacleomik33/
Jessica Belmont (Review) https://jessicabelmont.com/
@happily_undignified (Review) https://www.instagram.com/happily_undignified/
@honeydukesbooks (Review) https://www.instagram.com/honeydukesbooks/
Nesie’s Place (Spotlight) https://nesiesplace.wordpress.com

February 17th
Breakeven Books (Spotlight) https://breakevenbooks.com
@hoardingbooks.herdingcats (Review) https://www.instagram.com/hoardingbooks.herdingcats/
Balancing Books and Beauty (Review) https://balancingbooksandbeauties.wordpress.com/
Latisha’s Low-Key Life (Review) https://latishaslowkeylife.com/
B is for Book Review (Spotlight) https://bforbookreview.wordpress.com

February 18th
@booksintheirnaturalhabitat (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/booksintheirnaturalhabitat/
Sophril Reads (Spotlight) http://sophrilreads.wordpress.com
@books_inthecity (Review) https://www.instagram.com/books_inthecity/
@jypsylynn (Review) https://www.instagram.com/jypsylynn
@softestreader (Review) https://www.instagram.com/softestreader/

R&R Book Tours

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to interact with you. If this sounds like something you would read, let me know!

If you’d like to support me, check out my ‘Buy Me A Coffee’ page.

Try Audible Premium Plus | Try Kindle Unlimited | Try Audible Plus | Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial | Amazon Prime Music 30-day Free Trial | Try Prime Wardrobe | Jessica Belmont is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.