#BOOKTOUR | My Mother’s Gift – Steffanie Edward @EdwardsaEdward @bookouture #amreading #bookreview #booksontour #bookouture #mymothersgift

Welcome to my stop on the tour for My Mother’s Gift by Steffanie Edward! Check out all the info below and my book review. Let me know what you think in the comments.


Can your heart belong somewhere that you’ve never called home?

When Erica gets a phone call to say her mother, Ione, is ill in St Lucia, she knows she must go to her. Though the island – the place of her mother’s birth – is somewhere that Erica has never seen as her homeland.

Even when the plane touches down in the tropical paradise, with its palm trees swaying in the island breeze, the sound of accents so like her mother’s own calling loud in the air, Erica doesn’t find herself wanting to stay a moment longer than she has to.

But stepping into her mother’s house, she is shocked by what she finds. Her mother’s memory is fading, her once-immaculate house is now dirty and messy, and she’s refusing help from anyone but family. And Erica knows she must stay with her, even though it means leaving everything else behind.

What she doesn’t know is that – even as her mother’s memories get worse – Ione still has a final gift for her daughter. Because the unspoken secrets of their past are about to emerge, changing everything Erica thought she knew about her mother, her home, and who she really is…

A captivating tale of grief, love, and what it means to find home, perfect for fans of Andrea Levy, Jojo Moyes and Amanda Prowse.

Amazon


Review

Excuse me, I’m still crying…🥺

Mother’s Gift by Steffanie Edward is absolutely gut wrenching. But… it’s also beautiful, raw, and real. I haven’t had a book pull at my heart this hard in quite a while and I give a lot of credit to this author to be able to pull off that kind of emotion in the writing.

Written in first person via Erica’s point of view, we get a deep understanding of who she is and what she’s experiencing. I think she is a fantastic main character and her journey through this book is very heartfelt.

Topics include Alzheimer’s Disease and the death of a child, which can be quite triggering for some. I did cry. A lot. So, obviously, if emotional stories are difficult, this may not be the best. But for me, this is why I read. I want real and this is a great example of that.

Overall, My Mother’s Gift is a compelling read that I definitely recommend.

Thank you to Bookouture for the free review copy. All opinions are my own and unbiased.

Rating

4★


Steffanie Edward was born in St Lucia, brought up in London and now straddles between the two.

Anancy, Crick-crick and other Caribbean folk stories have been a part of her life since childhood. In her late teens she enjoyed reading Susan Howatch and books on slavery. Her absolute favourite reads have been Wild Seed by Octavia E Butler, and Woman At Point Zero by Naawal El Saadawi.

Her writing career started with short stories, five of which have been published. Her first attempt at writing a novel was over twenty years ago, whilst living and working in Abu Dhabi. That novel, Yvette, didn’t make it into print, but the main protagonist, Yvette, has muscled her way into Steffanie’s debut novel, This Other Island.

Web | Twitter

Bookouture | BOTBS

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to interact with you. If this sounds like something you would read, let me know!

If you’d like to support me, check out my ‘Buy Me A Coffee’ page.

Try Audible Premium Plus | Try Kindle Unlimited | Try Audible Plus | Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial | Amazon Prime Music 30-day Free Trial | Try Prime Wardrobe | Jessica Belmont is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com

One thought on “#BOOKTOUR | My Mother’s Gift – Steffanie Edward @EdwardsaEdward @bookouture #amreading #bookreview #booksontour #bookouture #mymothersgift

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.